Livestreamer without commandline

Update: Livestreamer has been discontinued and has been replaced by StreamLink. So everytime I mention livestreamer just imagine I’m talking about StreamLink. It’s a fork of it and works exactly the same.

Now that my adventures on linux are over for a while I realized that some things are a lot harder on windows than on linux. For example: I use livestreamer (Now Stream Link) to watch livestreams in VLC.

VLC playing a livesteam over livestreamer

Originally because I wanted to avoid the Flash player and now that almost everyone has switched to HTML5 I use it only for convenience. On linux I started livestreamer like this:

$ livestreamer high & disown

Which allowed me to close the command line afterwards. Sadly windows doesn’t work that way so I always have to leave the cmd window open. But when something’s annoying enough I’ll fix it at some point and with this problem it’s possible over a *.vbs script.

This is the script I’m using (pastebin.com):

Dim streamer
Dim quality
Dim link

streamingSite = “twitch.tv”       ‘ The Site you want to grab the stream from
default       = “gamesdonequick”  ‘ The stream that is shown by default in the text box
defaultq      = “high”              ‘ The default quality

streamer = InputBox(“Enter livestream channel”, “livestreamer”, default)
quality  = InputBox(“Enter quality”, “livestreamer”, “high”)

link = “livestreamer ” & streamingSite & “/” & streamer & ” ” & quality & ”  –http-header Client-ID=jzkbprff40iqj646a697cyrvl0zt2m6″

CreateObject(“Wscript.Shell”).Run link,0,True
Set objShell = Nothing

Just save it as a *.vbs file and change the three variables to fit your needs and when launching it you should see this:

After clicking ok on the second dialog it’ll take some time, and if Livestreamer is installed correctly and finds a player (eg. VLC) you should see the player opening with the livestream and no command line. The last thing I did was make a shortcut of it and give it a nice icon.

Leave a Reply

