Clearscreen

I mentioned a while ago that I got a second monitor, which a long needed upgrade for me. I’ve been using only one screen for quite a while and for a lot of things it can get very frustrating to only have one screen. For example when playing a game in fullscreen your entire screen space is used up by one program, or when I needed to run two instances of a program for debugging, or when working on any project which requires to switch between programs like the webbrowser and something like Powerpoint.

Now that I have that second screen it’s obviously a lot more comfortable doing these things, but from time to time I still turn the other screen off because I notice that I don’t need it. The problem that comes up with that is that Windows remembers where you closed a program, so when opening for example the taskmanager and the last time I used it it was on the second monitor, I won’t see it since it’s turned off. So for now I’ve always either turned it back on again or just blindly guessed where the program is and dragged my mouse around in the dark.

Since that’s not an efficient solution I put together a small program that’ll move all windows (Almost all windows) that are open on one screen to another.

The program gets all it’s settings over arguments and is generally really small and probably unfinished but it does the trick for me. You pass it the dimensions of your main screen (Left, Right, Top, Bottom coordinates), which you can find out by running the progam with the –setup flag and finally pass it the coordinates of a point to which it should move all programs on the main screen.

It works pretty ok, it just doesn’t seem to want to move the file explorer since it’s probably the same process as the taskbar. At some point it also moved my taskbar, which made up for some interesting results like two taskbars stacked onto eachother. So I ended up blacklisting the explorer process.

And as always here‘s the sourcecode and the binary. I suggest launching the program from a shortcut with arguments.

Leave a Reply

